Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Numerology > Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2012, 02:36 PM
bagger288 bagger288 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tacoma/Seattle, WA
Posts: 126
Default Copy/Paste/Transpose/Grid resize bump

I know i've mentioned these features before, but I like to do a little "ping," as Jim would say, sometimes.

I switched to Numerology partially because I hated using piano rolls (i'd used them extensively for years and years). Lately I went back to playing with sequencing in a daw, and the ability to easily transpose parts of a sequence with the mouse, the ability to copy, paste, and duplicate easily, and the ability to resize the note grid on the fly, were a revelation. I love everything about numerology, but these basic midi sequencing functions that have been around forever in all DAW pianorolls and other software, are hard to get by without sometimes in numerology!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2012, 07:22 PM
jonahs jonahs is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 116
Default

Don't the octave, rate, gate, step # settings do that? What features are you looking for?

I sometimes use duplicate stacks for note variation and keep them separate from the tone generation. I'll make a lot of presets and then duplicate the stack and select the different presets. An option to convert presets to stacks would be neat...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2012, 04:40 PM
bagger288 bagger288 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tacoma/Seattle, WA
Posts: 126
Default

right, yeah, all these things I mentioned can be done with sequencer modulation, or the transpose key on teh sequencer, or any of those things. but for editing detailed sequences being able to manipulate the notes in the sequence directly in groups, instead of one by one, and copy/paste them, and duplicate them, it extremely useful.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2012, 06:15 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,512
Default

Don't worry, I'm listening, but not quite ready to come out of the low-level plumbing stuff yet...

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2013, 09:56 AM
Valery_Kondakoff Valery_Kondakoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 53
Default

Bump!

If there are some 'copy/paste/duplicate' news in N4?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2013, 12:50 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,512
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valery_Kondakoff View Post
Bump!

If there are some 'copy/paste/duplicate' news in N4?
Not yet, but they're still on the list...

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2014, 05:38 AM
fleskus fleskus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 32
Default

For mononote i've thought it would be nice if one could transpose octaves in place (indicated by colors and/or numers on the slider knob). It could work like this: Hold a modifier and click slider to make it (and others selected) rotate between 0, 1 and 2 octaves while holding alt and clicking (multiple times). Shift+alt does the same in the other direction. Something like that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-12-2014, 08:19 AM
rexlapin rexlapin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 149
Default

Hi Fleskus,
I don't know if you are aware that you can already set the pitch range for
the Mononote to +12/-12,+24/-24/ or +48/-48. If you open the disclosure
triangle at the bottom of the Mononote window you can choose this using
the Pitch Range dropdown. The resolution per note interval becomes less
but I have found it to be still useable.
I hope this is helpful for your needs.
Cheers,
Scott
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-12-2014, 05:45 PM
fleskus fleskus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rexlapin View Post
Hi Fleskus,
I don't know if you are aware that you can already set the pitch range for
the Mononote to +12/-12,+24/-24/ or +48/-48. If you open the disclosure
triangle at the bottom of the Mononote window you can choose this using
the Pitch Range dropdown. The resolution per note interval becomes less
but I have found it to be still useable.
I hope this is helpful for your needs.
Cheers,
Scott
Thanks for the tip, but i'm well aware, so i'll continue to use it when it's needed, but i try to avoid +-48 It was this range that got me thinking about this in the first place. I really like this idea so i'm throwing it out there. Modifier + scrolling is another way of doing it, or modifier + drag. A modifier + click could also bring up a list of octaves to choose. This way you could access any humanly useful range without messing with height and without losing overview. The view could even be reduced to 12 steps now.

Last edited by fleskus; 02-12-2014 at 05:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-12-2014, 07:38 PM
rexlapin rexlapin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 149
Default

Hi Fleskus,
I think you have some good ideas here, I just wanted to make sure
there wasn't something simpler being overlooked. I do this all the
time with a program as potentially complex as Numerology.
Thanks,
Scott
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.