Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Five12 > Five12 News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:59 AM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,546
Default An easier way to bug the Logic team about the AU MIDI issue.

In Logic Pro 9 (and I assume Logic Studio 9) there is an item in the Logic Pro menu where you can provide 'Feedback' to the Logic team (image attached). In Logic 8 I think the same item may be in the "Help" menu. I have recently found out that entries through this system go directly into their main bug tracking system.

What you want to say is something like:

Logic Pro does not currently support MIDI output from Audio Units. I am trying to run an Audio Unit plugin that generates MIDI but I cannot route the MIDI directly to my Logic synthesizers, resulting in very high levels of latency and other timing issues.

If you care at all about having the Numerology AU run latency-free in Logic, you should take a minute to make an entry. Based on what I see on the CoreAudio developer's list, there are several other developers that would also like to write AUs that generate MIDI. And there are already several popular plugins (such as NI Mascine) that generate MIDI as VSTs but not as AUs.

If enough users complain, they will fix it!

Cheers,
Jim

<update : Feb 2, 2011>
I have found a couple of direct web links we can also use, both for Logic and MainStage:
http://www.apple.com/feedback/logicpro.html
http://www.apple.com/feedback/mainstage.html
<end update>
Attached Images
File Type: png Logic ProScreenSnapz026.png (41.3 KB, 134 views)

Last edited by jim; 02-02-2011 at 12:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2011, 10:14 AM
ulrik ulrik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Yes, that's a good idea, I will do it right away!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2011, 10:15 AM
Logos Lover Logos Lover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 39
Default

I'll definitely do that Jim !!! Would love this "feature"

EDIT: Just done it.

Last edited by Logos Lover; 01-19-2011 at 10:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2011, 03:22 PM
TwoToneshuzz TwoToneshuzz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 815
Default Give them Logic fellars a holler!

We want midi outs from AU's fixed up and we wants em fixed up NOW!!

Multiple outputs from AU effects would not be bad either

Regards

Wade
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2011, 10:43 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,546
Default

An additional link:

https://bugreport.apple.com

This is for general bug reporting (and feature requests) for all Apple products. It should accept all Apple site logins, iTunes, web store, developer, etc...

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2011, 12:08 PM
aeon aeon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim View Post
An additional link:

https://bugreport.apple.com

This is for general bug reporting (and feature requests) for all Apple products. It should accept all Apple site logins, iTunes, web store, developer, etc..
I tried this route, but it was only for developers.


cheers,
Ian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-26-2011, 02:25 PM
verstaerker verstaerker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 56
Default

Live has the same issue... so it make sense maybe to go VST (sorry i have no idea how complicated that is )
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-26-2011, 05:19 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by verstaerker View Post
Live has the same issue... so it make sense maybe to go VST (sorry i have no idea how complicated that is )
http://www.five12.com/vbForum/showth...ted=1#post5682

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2011, 12:40 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,546
Default New links for Logic & Mainstage feedback

Another option to give them a ping about AU MIDI output support...

http://www.apple.com/feedback/logicpro.html
http://www.apple.com/feedback/mainstage.html

(I've also updated the first post on this thread to include these links)

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.