Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Techniques > Integration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2014, 11:18 AM
TheTechnobear TheTechnobear is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 150
Default Lemur Emus - LPadV2/ Shove(push) with N4

downloaded LPadV2, and it works really nicely with N4 Pro with an old iPad v1, Mac OSX 10.9.3 - brings a new dimension to N4 for me

Thanks Jim for a great addition.


details below:
Lpadv2 : https://liine.net/en/community/user-library/view/383/

a) I created a second IAC Bus , in Audio Midi setup
b) download Lpadv2 to iPad, and have lemur running
c) In Lemur Deamon:
IAC Bus 1 -> Lemur In 0
IAC Bus 2 -> Lemur Out 0
d) Start N4
e) Controller setup -> add LaunchPad
Input: IAC Bus 2
Output: IAC Bus 1

(not sure if i restarted N4, as i did it a few times)

from now on, always launch Lemur first, then N4
you should see User 1 lit in orange (brown?)

go get the Launchpad notes from your download, to work out whats going on with all the lights



troubleshooting:
- if user 1 is not orange, then your midi output (from N4) is not setup correctly.
check Lemur Deamon (lemur in) and N4 controller setup (output)
- if user 1 is orange (cool!), but when you press user 2, user 2 doesn't go green...
then your midi input (to N4) is wrong, check Lemur Deamon (lemur out) and N4 controller setup (input)

notes: for some reason doesn't seem to work with the Lemur Deamon midi ports,
or at least not for me.

Last edited by TheTechnobear; 07-20-2014 at 02:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2014, 05:20 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,529
Default

Great to hear!

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2014, 10:05 AM
TheTechnobear TheTechnobear is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 150
Default

ok, some more serious playing today

seems I spoke a bit too soon...
there is an issue, when you switch modes then some squares do not 'repaint' immediately.
e.g. if you are on the mixer page, then switch to the primary edit on a sequencer, the green squares will only repaint when the 'cursor' moves over them.

also I've seen some 'random' squares not painted (e.g mixer level bar has one missing ... e.g. 1,2,3 5,6 painted missing 4)

I think there are a few other oddities....

Im sures Lpadv2 doing something odd...
its whetted by appetite for a pad now though as its so much fun.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-20-2014, 12:23 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,529
Default

I suspect that Lemur doesn't support the 'compressed all-grid update' mode the Launchpad supports (I wouldn't expect it to). That mode allows updating the whole controller with half the normal amount of MIDI notes. You're welcome to post a feature request for it, but also look for a Push emulator -- the Push has a simpler MIDI spec.

Or, of course, a Launchpad -- then you can save Lemur for all the other things it does so well...

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2014, 01:04 PM
TheTechnobear TheTechnobear is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim View Post
I suspect that Lemur doesn't support the 'compressed all-grid update' mode the Launchpad supports (I wouldn't expect it to). That mode allows updating the whole controller with half the normal amount of MIDI notes. You're welcome to post a feature request for it, but also look for a Push emulator -- the Push has a simpler MIDI spec.

Or, of course, a Launchpad -- then you can save Lemur for all the other things it does so well...

Jim
ok, so Shove is a Push Emu on Lemur and seems to work... (identical setup)
https://liine.net/en/community/user-library/view/421/

tips so far, flat skin seems to work better... and setup -> zoom is great when just working with one stack

(does N4 work differently with push to launchpad, seems the same to me, using Pan/Clip/Browse/Device for modes, then note size for the buttons down the side.

some small oddities,
the buttons sometimes need to be hit twice... (i suspect that could be changed in editor!)
mixing of colours is not nice for some views when transport is running.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-20-2014, 02:32 PM
TheTechnobear TheTechnobear is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 150
Default

much more stable that LPadV2.
just remember to change the midi out of the stack away from IAC bus (as it defaults to), otherwise it makes for an amusing display

only issue I have, is i cannot find the up/down/left/right actions, I'm guessing they should be on the cursor keys, but don't seem to work.

anyway, I think it should give me a feeling for if this is a route I want to explore some more, before investing in hardware
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.