Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum

Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Techniques > Integration

Old 01-21-2013, 10:43 AM

Default Very , very basic Logic question (I think)

I'm pretty competent 'within the box' of Logic, but am a complete novice when it comes to rewire, midi, or basically anything that links Logic to the outside world. So please forgive what I assume is a very basic question; I assume it is so basic I either couldn't find, or couldn't recognize when I did find, the answer in the manual or by searching these forums.

Basically I just want to use Numerology to make basic patterns, that I can develop using the actual plugins I intend to use, and then import those midi patterns into Logic, where I can reload the plugin on the track but still have the ability to tweak the pattern in Logic itself.

So, in baby-steps terms, how do I do this? I'm fine loading AUs into Numerology and devising patterns. I'm fine working with midi in Logic. But how -- and again, I know this is basic stuff -- do I get a pattern out of Numerology and into Logic? I'm sure it has to do with the midi clock syncing I read about in the manual, but are there very basic instructions on how to do that anywhere (including what to set up on the Logic side)? I don't even think I need syncing -- simply exporting a pattern would be fine, which I could then load into Logic.

Thanks in advance for any assistance anyone can offer with this basic question!
Old 01-21-2013, 11:45 AM
Administrator

For now, the best way to get a sequencer pattern copied from Numerology to Logic is to load the stack with the pattern into Numerology running standalone (or in ReWire mode), click the 'MIDI Rec Enable" button for that stack, and 'play it out' for as many bars as necessary to get what you need. The MIDI file will show up in the .media folder for that project, which you can then drag into a MIDI or instrument track in Logic.