Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Techniques > Integration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2014, 06:52 PM
kenric kenric is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Default MidiFX timing off in Logic X

Hi,
I am running three instances of N4 build 133 as MidiFX plugins in Logic X. When I press play on the transport the three instances are immediately out of sync. When I run one instance it seems to be fine. What is the preferred way to have multiple stacks running in sync with Logic?


EDIT: Ok, Rewire magically started working right after I posted this so I'm using that but the above still stands.

Thanks!

Kenric

Last edited by kenric; 03-28-2014 at 06:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2014, 01:54 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenric View Post
Hi,
I am running three instances of N4 build 133 as MidiFX plugins in Logic X. When I press play on the transport the three instances are immediately out of sync. When I run one instance it seems to be fine. What is the preferred way to have multiple stacks running in sync with Logic?
The MidiFX plugin is the best option. I'll run some tests over here to see what might be going on w.r.t. sync. In the meanwhile, make sure all AU timing prefs are turned off-- "Enable Sample Accurate MIDI" and so on. Those prefs are not relevant for the MidiFX version and I'll be removing them in the next few days.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2014, 10:24 AM
Per Boysen's Avatar
Per Boysen Per Boysen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 277
Default

I just mocked up a little piece of music in Logic X with the Numerology MIDI FX. I just ran the Kaleidoscopy Num Stack to get some note material for testing. When recording MIDI to the Logic track I found that all notes from Numerology are 46 or 47 tics late in Logic's sequencer.

So what I did to create a quartet piece was to set the Num Note Generators to spit out MIDI by four different MIDI channels and after having recorded one MIDI Region in Logic, and moved all note events 46 tics earlier, I did "split by MIDI channel" in Logic and started working on assigning playback synths for the four channels.

BTW, here's the recording:
http://looproom.com/audio/kaleidoscopic_numerology.mp3

Logic's summing track stacks are really useful when drivng multiple parts by different (Logic MIDI plugin) arpeggiators but I don't think there's a way to throw in Numerology as a central brain instead of those arps. One way is to open a Num MIDI FX on each one of the Logic summing stack's sub tracks. Then you loose out on the excellent general GUI of Numerolgy. It's hard to get the best side of every tool working together. If only the Num MIDI FX would report automation parameters to Logic we would have a powerful way to compose by Numerology's modularity through the Logic automation system on the summing track and its sub tracks.
__________________
Best wishes
Per Boysen
perboysen.com
soundcloud.com/pboy

Last edited by Per Boysen; 05-03-2014 at 10:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2014, 12:10 AM
ignatius ignatius is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: portland
Posts: 110
Default

does the midiFX plug in show up only in certain versions of logic/OS X?

it's never shown up for me in logic proX in OS X 10.8.5
__________________
http://www.ignatiusmusic.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2014, 07:54 AM
Groovetronic Groovetronic is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ignatius View Post
does the midiFX plug in show up only in certain versions of logic/OS X?
Yes, it only shows up in Mavericks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-04-2014, 01:25 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,546
Default

For some reason LogicX will load MIDI FX AUs on 10.8, but does not run them correctly -- confirmed by apple, so it is installed on 10.9 only...

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-04-2014, 01:41 PM
Per Boysen's Avatar
Per Boysen Per Boysen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 277
Default

I did the test on 10.9.2.
__________________
Best wishes
Per Boysen
perboysen.com
soundcloud.com/pboy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-04-2014, 01:43 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,546
Default

Yup -- I'll be testing that and some UI stuff on 10.9 all-day tomorrow...

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-04-2014, 03:57 PM
ignatius ignatius is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: portland
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim View Post
For some reason LogicX will load MIDI FX AUs on 10.8, but does not run them correctly -- confirmed by apple, so it is installed on 10.9 only...

Jim
such a bummer
__________________
http://www.ignatiusmusic.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-07-2014, 11:38 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,546
Default

I've confirmed the latency issue w/ the MIDI FX version of N4 in LogicX --- it is directly related to the count-in (as far as I can tell). Turning off the count-in seems to fix it for now. I'll be looking into a fix later this week...

Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.