Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Techniques > Integration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2011, 09:07 PM
capitan mission capitan mission is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Default sequencing presets in vst mode?

Hi, Ive managed to load Numerology as a vst inside Ableton Live: midi track, insert numerology, second midi track Midi from> Numerology, and select Numerology channel. The same process to run another instance.
I make some sequences, press play and the 2 tracks sound ok. But.... Can I sequence the different presets from my DAW? (Live in this case).
Something like C1 for preset 1, D1 for preset 3, etc.
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2011, 12:07 AM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by capitan mission View Post
Hi, Ive managed to load Numerology as a vst inside Ableton Live: midi track, insert numerology, second midi track Midi from> Numerology, and select Numerology channel. The same process to run another instance.
I make some sequences, press play and the 2 tracks sound ok. But.... Can I sequence the different presets from my DAW? (Live in this case).
Something like C1 for preset 1, D1 for preset 3, etc.
Cheers
Yes. If you double-click on a preset, you can assign a MIDI note to trigger it, then program that note into an Ableton clip to trigger the preset. I should put an example together, but I'm pretty wiped so that will have to wait until tomorrow...

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2011, 02:23 AM
capitan mission capitan mission is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim View Post
Yes. If you double-click on a preset, you can assign a MIDI note to trigger it, then program that note into an Ableton clip to trigger the preset. I should put an example together, but I'm pretty wiped so that will have to wait until tomorrow...

Cheers,
Jim
Thanks! It Works! (in preset properties Note>choose note>1
In a project like this (no complex midi routing) the "standard" is to choose always Midi channel 1? No matter how many instances of numerology im running?

Well, 4:15 am here, I go to bed!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2011, 11:49 AM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by capitan mission View Post
In a project like this (no complex midi routing) the "standard" is to choose always Midi channel 1? No matter how many instances of numerology im running?
That should be fine -- as long as you don't 'cross the streams' in Live...

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-14-2011, 12:53 PM
capitan mission capitan mission is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Default

I have another one : )
When a note ends in Ableton the triggered preset doesn't stop, how can I stop it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-14-2011, 10:03 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by capitan mission View Post
I have another one : )
When a note ends in Ableton the triggered preset doesn't stop, how can I stop it?
Setup a preset called "muted" -- and modify the module in there to fit the name, then use a note to trigger that preset. This trick is also very handy when using the Launchpad...

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ableton, live, preset, sequencing, vst

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.