Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Five12 > Five12 News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2013, 12:34 AM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,573
Default N4 Update: Installer, Plugins, Preset Length, Midi "Drag Out"...

The installer is finally, totally done -- had to jump through some rather odd hoops to get the ReWire driver to install. The installer now installs the current 64 bit ReWire driver (from Proellerheads) and the Numerology 4 ReWire driver. The installation happens when you first start Numerology 4 as an app -- it also checks to make sure everything is up-to-date everytime it starts. There are now preferences so you can state which components you want to have installed -- once you deinstall a component (i.e. N4 AU, N4 VST, N4 Rewire driver) it stays that way until you change the pref. See images below for picts.

I had not been spending much time with the AU & VST plugins lately, so I've just spent a couple days updating them and fixing some issues. I can verify that OSC works for (n4 pro) plugins now, as does "realtime automation" (RTA) and the new setup dialog for MIDI/OSC controllers. Also, the 'crash reporter' built into the app now works with the plugins -- if the app detects that Numerology was involved with a crash in another host, it will offer to send up the crash report.

Preset Length has gotten quite a bit more interesting. As a quick review, this feature allows you to specify what the length of any stack preset is in beats. This is very handy thing to specify, as now in N4:
- The preset playlist is now calibrated in 'preset lengths' instead of bars.
- You can control-click in the timeline to insert a preset (via a popup menu) -- it will insert a preset block of the correct length.
- There is now a "PRST" quantization mode -- preset changes are quantized to the boundary defined by each preset's length
- MIDI Clips are recorded in 'preset length' loops...

Ok, MIDI Clips... So for a while folks have asked for a way to drag sequencer patterns to host apps as MIDI clips. At first I tried a 'direct implementation' approach -- i.e. write code to spit out what notes a sequencer module will play. Problem is, it gets hard to account for all the weird things Numerology sequencers can do. The next approach was to clone the module, render it in the background, capture the MIDI and then generate a file. That would probably work well, but I have come up with what I think is a better solution all around. The new (and implemented) solution is to put a 'MIDI Clip' recorder on the MIDI output of every stack. It continuously records the output of the stack with the loop length set to the length of the current preset. As each loop completes, it saves the clip with the preset and starts a new one. So once you have played through each preset at least once, you now have a saved 'clip' of it that you can then drop into any other program. The CPU overhead seems to be quite low, so it will be on all the time for now. The UI is very simple: a blue "note" icon shows up on the Stack Output module when there a valid clip to drag out. If you edit anything in the stack, the note goes gray until it gets refreshed -- after the next complete play-through of the preset.

The really crazy thing about that approach is that it should work for audio as well, but I'm not quite ready to pursue that option just yet...

So that completes the last 'big' item I feel I need to finish before getting a public beta out. As I mentioned earlier, multi-threaded rendering will be done on a parallel dev branch, and probably released as 4.1. There are also lots of little (but very useful) things on the list, but I can get to those bit by bit. Right now I'm focusing on a final pass of testing and fixes...

Cheers,
Jim
Attached Images
File Type: png FinderScreenSnapz002.png (119.8 KB, 423 views)
File Type: png Numerology4 ProScreenSnapz011.png (59.3 KB, 426 views)
File Type: png Numerology4 ProScreenSnapz012.png (24.3 KB, 408 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2013, 03:28 PM
Aramis Aramis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 290
Default

My mouse is ready !!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2013, 05:33 PM
PLaine PLaine is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 102
Default

Great news indeed!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2013, 07:17 PM
jessej jessej is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Great news!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2013, 08:47 AM
lut lei's Avatar
lut lei lut lei is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 102
Default

I thought a flat UI design was mandatory now This looks great, looking forward to hear more about the new features.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-2013, 02:28 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lut lei View Post
I thought a flat UI design was mandatory now
Flat can look great in some cases, but note that Logic X uses almost as much 'chrome' as Logic 9 did... No big UI changes in Numerology 4, other than the Browser. Big UI update next time around -- skinnable, retina support, etc...

Quote:
Originally Posted by lut lei View Post
This looks great, looking forward to hear more about the new features.
more soon...

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2013, 05:10 PM
PLaine PLaine is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 102
Default

Speaking about how it looks, UI:

As said in other thread, I've started to use Numerology on stage, both for sending MIDI Prog changes to my synths and also for sequencing them.

What I've encountered there is that I'd really like to have much bigger space for Presets and Playlist. When everything (I mean all programming) is done you might like to see for example only preset/playlist when you actually play it. More you have options for tweaking it (colors, sizes, perhaps even fonts) the better of course. And you know, this is not only for making it look good. It's about seeing only what you want and how you want and then making live playing more easy. When there's more space for presets you might even make cue lyrics for vocoder singing or anything...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-03-2013, 01:31 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLaine View Post
What I've encountered there is that I'd really like to have much bigger space for Presets and Playlist. When everything (I mean all programming) is done you might like to see for example only preset/playlist when you actually play it. More you have options for tweaking it (colors, sizes, perhaps even fonts) the better of course. And you know, this is not only for making it look good. It's about seeing only what you want and how you want and then making live playing more easy. When there's more space for presets you might even make cue lyrics for vocoder singing or anything...
Duly noted -- I think there is much room for improvement there as well. Perhaps even having a 'super fat' mixer channel where the layout is wide enough to edit the playlist there as well -- but I'm just speculating at this point...

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-09-2013, 03:23 PM
jonahs jonahs is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 116
Default

Really cool solution!

Hmm...It's got me wondering. You didn't mention "Drag In"...

Do the MIDI clips work internally too? Are they "objects" you can route and interact with? I mean, could I turn off all the processing modules and wire a MIDI clip straight to an instrument? Or use one stack to generate MIDI clips, turn it off and still route the recorded clips?

Do MIDI clips record external input?! Should make for a potentially great MIDI looper then, I think?

I seems like MIDI clips supersede recording on sequencers? (for "normal" uses)

I'm thinking of Logic's environment, where it's useful, if chunkily implemented, at least compared to Numerology to capture MIDI data as discreet chunks for processing.

Or is there something new to drag clips to? I mean, if I have MIDI clip with lots of different CCs, notes, and MIDI channels, you couldn't load it into a sequencer without a lot of data getting discarded, right?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-11-2013, 01:26 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonahs View Post
Really cool solution!

Hmm...It's got me wondering. You didn't mention "Drag In"...
Correct -- that is on hold for a bit. I have a preliminary implementation for importing short MIDI files, and fully expect to finish it, but don't want to hold things up. The import algorithm has to be tweaked for the specific capabilities of each module that will offer that feature (MonoNote, PolyNote, DrumSeq).

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonahs View Post
Do the MIDI clips work internally too? Are they "objects" you can route and interact with? I mean, could I turn off all the processing modules and wire a MIDI clip straight to an instrument? Or use one stack to generate MIDI clips, turn it off and still route the recorded clips?
They are internal objects-- basically sparse lists of MIDI Events that are converted to MIDI Files when you drag them out -- but they are not currently available for anything other than export.

However, you raise some interesting ideas here (and below) --- i.e. treating them as a type of 'preset freeze'…

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonahs View Post
Do MIDI clips record external input?!
Yes -- any MIDI (except SysEx) that goes through the StackOut modules.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonahs View Post
Should make for a potentially great MIDI looper then, I think?
Well, if I added a MIDI playback function… I'm not sure yet if it would make sense to have MIDI looping on the StackOut, or via a dedicated module, but it is definitely worth thinking about.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonahs View Post
It seems like MIDI clips supersede recording on sequencers? (for "normal" uses)
Not yet. Recording into the NoteSequencers (that support it) is still the best way to create a sequence 'in realtime' -- especially as it loops seamlessly and you can edit it directly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonahs View Post
I'm thinking of Logic's environment, where it's useful, if chunkily implemented, at least compared to Numerology to capture MIDI data as discreet chunks for processing.

Or is there something new to drag clips to? I mean, if I have MIDI clip with lots of different CCs, notes, and MIDI channels, you couldn't load it into a sequencer without a lot of data getting discarded, right?
Correct -- there's no module (yet) that can handle 'freeform' MIDI data. But obviously, the MIDI Clip object is a step in that direction. The main thing for now is to make it easy to build your composition in Numerology, then have an easy way to get those patterns over to another program for further editing and mixdown.

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.