Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Numerology > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2011, 08:44 AM
Loopy C Loopy C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 75
Default Multiple Clock Bases?

Perhaps there is a tricky way to accomplish this? I would like to have multiple and DIFFERENT clocks running (in each stack for instance) so, for example, I could have:

-Several delay units processing external audio, each using a different clock division or being unrelated to incoming BPM (i.e. a tempo based part running at 100 bpm with delay set to 89 BPM).

-Several drum machines, again with different clocks...Part 1= 100BPM, Part 2= 97 BPM, Part 3=95 BPM etc).

-ETC

The idea is to easily run UNRELATED (not 'locked') clocking systems for experimentation. I do not see any direct way of accomplishing this but perhaps there is a indirect way?

Thanks in advance (and if not, consider this a 'Feature Request' )
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2011, 11:34 AM
Yasha Yasha is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
Default

I haven't played much with the clock, but with the Groove Clock module (under CV Gen), it appears that you can have an independent Groove Clock, running at any speed, in any stack. Its clock signal can be routed to sequencers in that stack, or to one of the two Clock buses not used by the Master Clock.

Do audiounits receive their clock signals through the midi stream?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2011, 12:25 PM
Loopy C Loopy C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 75
Default

Oh, thanks Yasha...something to look into for sure then. Appreciate the idea ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2011, 06:24 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,577
Default

For any sequencing module there are two different ways to achieve independent clocking:
- Use one of the non-standard run modes, in particular speed or percent mode.
- Use a secondary GrooveClock module.

I generally recommend the former, as it is easier to manage, and gives you the option of being able to quickly drop back into sync.

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2011, 06:25 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yasha View Post
Do audiounits receive their clock signals through the midi stream?
All AUs get tempo info from the master clock.

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2011, 06:29 PM
Loopy C Loopy C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim View Post
All AUs get tempo info from the master clock.

Cheers,
Jim
Ah, there is the rub...it was at least one important part of my goal to have one or more AU FX independently clocked. No way then?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2011, 07:00 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loopy C View Post
Ah, there is the rub...it was at least one important part of my goal to have one or more AU FX independently clocked. No way then?
Not for now. What AU's are you using that use tempo info?

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-2011, 10:22 PM
CJ Miller CJ Miller is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Default

I just upgraded to 3 Pro this week, and look forward to jumping in soon (it is flu time so I can't concentrate now). Amazing work, Jim. Most of my work so far has been in 1.4 so I need to catch up.

It is probably fairly central to the way you wrote Numerology, but I would rather there not be a master clock at all. Independent sequences are always in sync, although it may not be obvious - my experience is from building analog sequencers and making Max patches. Still this hardly limits the fun of Numerology!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2011, 10:44 PM
Loopy C Loopy C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim View Post
Not for now. What AU's are you using that use tempo info?

Cheers,
Jim
Two favorites as FX are U-HE 'Filterscape' and FabFilter 'Timeless 2'. I presently 'bounce' my tracks in Logic to one specified set of tempos then play them through at another (i.e above FX) but was looking for a real time solution ;-)

Another favorite (and presently doable!, thank you) use of above is to have a continuously variable clock via Numerology while processing (random master clock speed) and re-recording tracks 'live', gives that 'improv/live' aspect to delay-based FX (think stoned mad Jamaican producer at the helm ).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-2011, 06:47 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loopy C View Post
Two favorites as FX are U-HE 'Filterscape' and FabFilter 'Timeless 2'. I presently 'bounce' my tracks in Logic to one specified set of tempos then play them through at another (i.e above FX) but was looking for a real time solution ;-)
A question: Is there any reason you can't use ModSeqs to drive param changes in these plugins?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loopy C View Post
Another favorite (and presently doable!, thank you) use of above is to have a continuously variable clock via Numerology while processing (random master clock speed) and re-recording tracks 'live', gives that 'improv/live' aspect to delay-based FX (think stoned mad Jamaican producer at the helm ).
Crazy. I'd love to hear some of it!

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.