Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Eurorack Hardware > Vector Sequencer : News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2019, 10:07 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,518
Default Vector Seq Firmware 1.0.8

Various fixes related to mutes and resets, other stuff too....

Download:
http://files.five12.com/VS-1.0.8/VECTOR.BIN.zip

Instructions:

• Download and un-zip the Vector firmware file (VECTOR.BIN.zip).
• Press and hold the Shift button while powering up the Vector to enter USB Disk mode.
• Use a USB ‘A to B’ cable to connect the Vector to your computer. After a few seconds, the SD Card for the Vector will show up as a new disk.
• Unzip VECTOR.BIN.zip. On a Mac, the Finder may do that for you. Do not double-click on VECTOR.BIN, which the Finder will try to de-compress into something not useful.
• Make sure the filename is exactly VECTOR.BIN. The OS X Finder will often rename it (e.g. VECTOR-2.BIN), in that case be sure to rename it back to VECTOR.BIN. Copy VECTOR.BIN to the root directory of Vector’s SD Card – Delete or move any previous VECTOR.BIN firmware files.
• Now is also a good time to backup your Vector's PROJECT directory.
• Unmount/Eject the Vector’s SD Card from your computer, and power off your eurorack system.
• Hold down the Rec button on the Vector while powering up your system.
• Press Next to load the new Firmware, which takes about 20 seconds.
• Verify the Firmware is the correct version in Globals -- first page, 2nd OLED, top-right corner.


Release Notes:

1.0.8:

Part Mute : Fixed stuck notes when muting parts.
Ext Reset : Fixed stuck notes when externally reseting a sequence.
Ext Reset : Fixed an issue where resting one part externally would reset all other parts too.
Jack Expander TRIGS : fixed an issue when using external sync where output triggers would run 20X too fast.
Step Repeat : Fixed a bug where step repeats could not be edited if a step was selected, muted or skipped.
File Save : Swapped the text for Next/Prev button behaviors.
Sub Seqs : Fixed an issue where param changes would happen a step late.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2019, 09:57 AM
cliffman cliffman is offline
Numerologist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PDX
Posts: 33
Default

Thank you!
So far, everything is working great.
Really, really like the Vector.
Sat down Saturday for a long show-and-tell and jam with a friend who is very deep on sequencers and he was very impressed with all the features and speed of workflow.
Me too.
The fluidity with time is amazing.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2019, 11:08 AM
blackdoors blackdoors is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 38
Default

Thanks! Cannot wait to try. Next up, Vector is going to make friends with an OB-6.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2019, 09:06 PM
Ken Ken is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 1
Default

Just installed 1.0.8. External clock sync with RC24 is still not working for me. I am sending clock and run inputs from Pamela's New Workout and there is no response on the Vector. The last version where the external sync worked (albeit with some hiccups) was 1.0.3.

On the other hand, internal clock is working fine. Vector and my OB-6 are already friends

Update: I deleted the F12_VS folder and now the external sync is working. There may have been an issue with the old preferences.

Last edited by Ken; 02-20-2019 at 10:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2019, 11:04 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken View Post
Update: I deleted the F12_VS folder and now the external sync is working. There may have been an issue with the old preferences.
Fascinating -- thanks very much for finding that!

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-21-2019, 02:40 AM
nreeves nreeves is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Portland
Posts: 70
Default

Was having a similar issue trying to sync to clock, trashing the F12_VS folder sorted it right out - all systems go here, thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-23-2019, 08:33 PM
nickb808 nickb808 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
Default

1.0.8 has been working really well. i used it for a good number of hours today and it kept perfect time. there were only a few instances where it didn't start w/ the sequencer clocking it, but it is much better than before.

i only ran into two messages being displayed, but they didn't affect the timing and i could use the sequencer normally it seemed.

1) NGraph.addHwOutEvent_TOO MA
2) POSTROLL queue err

this is easily my favorite eurorack sequencer. it was sequencing 2 voices in the modular, a virus ti, and a blofeld with no hiccups and what seems like very accurate timing.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-24-2019, 09:10 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickb808 View Post
i only ran into two messages being displayed, but they didn't affect the timing and i could use the sequencer normally it seemed.

1) NGraph.addHwOutEvent_TOO MA
2) POSTROLL queue err
Thanks for the notes -- there does seem to be a couple cases where those messages might still appear, I'll be looking into it this week.

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2019, 08:01 AM
nickb808 nickb808 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
Default

one other minor thing i noticed in 1.0.7 and 1.0.8 - the background LED color setting seems to be working a little strangely or i don't understand it. you can't change foreground and background LED color independently.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-01-2019, 04:13 PM
steve.turner steve.turner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 52
Default

So far on 108

Scenario 1: Vector and Yarns
Yarns Clock Out to Vector Clock In
Yarns Runt Out to Vector Run In
Sync RC24
*works fine*

Scenario 2: Pamela's New Workout
Pams output 1: x24 to Vector Clock In
Pams ouitput 2: /x (I would have thought 4 for an 8 step pattern but tried many) to Vector Reset In
Sync RC24
*fail*

Timing seems to sync correctly, and vector pattern starts and plays but then there is silence or no note trigger. I thought this was due to calculation of Pams output 2 but changing it to /2 or /8 just moves the reset time but the dead space occurs between resets.

Anyone using Pamela's NW with the Vector to send time and correct resets? I need to use PNW to slave the Circadian Rhythms as well so can not really rely on Yarns easily.

*EDIT - success*. Set Pams output 2 with GATE WIDTH at 100% (makes sense as to why silence was occurring previously) and divider at /16 for 16ths on an 8 step pattern with RESET to AUTO on RC24.

Scenario 3: Pamela's New Workout to Vector
Pams output 1: x24 to Vector Clock In
Pams ouitput 2: /16 (16th notes at 8 steps)
GATE WIDTH set to 100% in PNW
Sync RC24
*success*

Tracks timing nicely and syncs the bar starts perfectly

Last edited by steve.turner; 03-01-2019 at 04:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.