Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Numerology > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2011, 09:44 PM
Jim Aikin Jim Aikin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default N3 Timeline Questions

Starting to try using the Timeline to build an arrangement. I'm not seeing a way to start playback anywhere but at bar 1, and the manual doesn't seem to mention such a feature.

Also, even though I've clicked the "power" button for the Arrangement to turn it off, the Stacks still switch to new Presets during playback. This makes it a bit awkward to develop new patterns for Stacks that already have a few patterns, as I can't listen to the new pattern I'm working on in the context of the rest of the patterns that I want it to go with ... other than by deleting everything in the Timeline, I suppose.

Am I missing obvious features here? Probably ... still in the middle of the learning process. Thanks for any tips!

Also, while I'm thinking of it, the Timeline always seems to operate on quarter-note boundaries. I happen to be working with some riffs that are in 11/8, and I can do this successfully as long as I repeat a given pattern an even number of times (because that will make it 11/4, thus ending on a quarter-note boundary). Is there any way to get eighth-note boundaries on the blocks in the Timeline?

--JA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2011, 12:07 AM
circuit circuit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Aikin View Post
Also, even though I've clicked the "power" button for the Arrangement to turn it off, the Stacks still switch to new Presets during playback.
At the top left in a stack alongside the arrange power button is a click-down 'arrange' menu. Select 'off' there instead of track and that arrangement will now run free. At least that's what I do.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2011, 09:14 AM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Aikin View Post
Starting to try using the Timeline to build an arrangement. I'm not seeing a way to start playback anywhere but at bar 1, and the manual doesn't seem to mention such a feature.
There isn't a way to set the permanent start point other than bar 1, but you can use Locate to jump to any bar -- command-L or via the Timeline menu.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Aikin View Post
Also, even though I've clicked the "power" button for the Arrangement to turn it off, the Stacks still switch to new Presets during playback. This makes it a bit awkward to develop new patterns for Stacks that already have a few patterns, as I can't listen to the new pattern I'm working on in the context of the rest of the patterns that I want it to go with ... other than by deleting everything in the Timeline, I suppose.
That is a bug -- I must have trigged it via some other recent change. It will be fixed today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Aikin View Post
Also, while I'm thinking of it, the Timeline always seems to operate on quarter-note boundaries. I happen to be working with some riffs that are in 11/8, ....
Nice!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Aikin View Post
... and I can do this successfully as long as I repeat a given pattern an even number of times (because that will make it 11/4, thus ending on a quarter-note boundary). Is there any way to get eighth-note boundaries on the blocks in the Timeline?
Not other than by running at double-tempo -- timeline edits are currently quantized to a beat. I actually got this exact same request from someone else recently, along with more zooming options, so I will give those both a bump on the wish list....

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2011, 08:24 PM
stubbsonic stubbsonic is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lafayette, CO
Posts: 112
Default

+1 on 8th note resolution for arrange chunks. I could see how 16th's would also be useful.

In either case, it's not just about an odd meter (which I enjoy as much or more than the next person)-- it's also about allowing transitions to occur on something besides 1. I remember someone referring to it as "covering the seams". Even in 4/4, having things switch on non-one beats is cool.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2011, 08:51 PM
Jim Aikin Jim Aikin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stubbsonic View Post
In either case, it's not just about an odd meter (which I enjoy as much or more than the next person)-- it's also about allowing transitions to occur on something besides 1. I remember someone referring to it as "covering the seams". Even in 4/4, having things switch on non-one beats is cool.
Good point.

Another thing that seems to happen currently (I may not have explored this thoroughly ... could be wrong) is that even when the Timeline is inactive, if you've got a bunch of patterns that are in 11/8 and you're experimenting with how they go together, you can't easily switch to a different stack preset during playback, because the switching will occur at a 4/4 bar line. I believe you can set it to occur on any beat instead, but with an odd number of eighth-notes per pattern, this setting won't solve the problem.

What's interesting is that Numerology is very good indeed at doing things in odd time signatures. Even if your pattern happens to be 16 steps long, its actual musical length can be almost anything. This makes the program quite good at doing minimalist polyrhythms -- patterns that move across one another. So a bit more support for that concept would be a nice addition to the software.

At least, that's my personal opinion. I'm known to have biases in this area!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2011, 10:02 PM
baltimoroder baltimoroder is offline
Numerologist
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 110
Default

If you need more arrangement power that the Timeline can provide, I'd recommend driving preset selection with a dedicated sequencer...

In a new stack setup a ModulationSeq, Parameter: <Target> Stack Output - 'Next Preset Num'. Make sure your target stack is set to 'Reset on Preset Change' - 'No'. Preset Quantization - 'None' and Mixer Quantize - 'None'.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.