Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Techniques > Integration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2011, 01:50 PM
super8trash super8trash is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default Rewire Mode with Ableton: Numerology projects and stacks not (re)loading properly.

Hello,
Here are some rewire problems I ran into:
First I open Live and then I open Numerology to have it running in Rewire mode. Every time I quit Numerology and try to open my Numerology project again, the application is starting up but the project isn't showing. So I have to quit Numerology which (randomly) crashes Live.
Then another thing (randomly) happens: after restarting Live and opening the latest Numerology project, I noticed that some stacks won't reload properly. (For example: I suddenly get a blank/altered DrumSeq Module while this module is sending the midi notes I programmed earlier and is playing the pattern properly. What's more, this stack isn't even 'running' but in pause mode.)

Anybody else already faced these 'oddities'? Any advice for a healthy Ableton/Numerology setup?
Thanks.
Tom

OS 10.6.6
Numerology 3.0.2 (build 34) [SE]
Ableton Live 8.2.1
Launchpad is set up for Numerology
Nocturn (Automap) is set up for Ableton.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2011, 02:45 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,542
Default

If you have the Numerology 2 ReWire Driver installed, delete it. It is this file:

<your hard drive>/Library/Application Support/Propellerhead Software/ReWire/NumerologyReWireDevice.plugin

I thought I'd caught all the conflicts with the N2 ReWire Driver, but I may have missed one.

Then, email me the last few crash logs for Live. They will be in
<your home dir>/Library/Logs/Diagnostic Reports.

(jim <at> five12 <dot> com)

Thanks!
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2011, 12:46 AM
super8trash super8trash is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for your quick reply, Jim.

I deleted the NumerologyReWireDevice.plugin.
This is what's left in that Rewire Folder now:
- AutomapServerEngine.bundle
- Numerology3ReWireDevice.plugin
- ReWire.bundle

I then restarted the computer and did a quick test. One problem persists: when I quit Numerology (in rewire mode) I can restart but I cannot open a project.

I sent you a Live crash log.
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2011, 07:39 AM
Sjoerd Sjoerd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by super8trash View Post
Any advice for a healthy Ableton/Numerology setup?
FWIW, when using Numerology + Live, I avoid Rewire. In fact, I always avoid Rewire, even though I can't even remember what made me dislike Rewire so much in the first place.

I have told Live to not use Rewire mode at all (by adding the line "-ReWireMasterOff" to ~/Library/Preferences/Ableton/Live 8.2.2b4/Options.txt -- adjust the path for different versions of Live), so I can open Numerology when Live is running, without Numerology entering into Rewire mode.

I use IAC for sending MIDI from Numerology to Live. I typically don't route audio between apps, but if it is needed, I use Soundflower (I haven't ever been able to get Jack working nicely on any of my systems).

Then I use MTC for clock sync, with Numerology as master, manually setting matching BPMs on both apps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2011, 11:34 AM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by super8trash View Post
Thanks for your quick reply, Jim.

I deleted the NumerologyReWireDevice.plugin.
This is what's left in that Rewire Folder now:
- AutomapServerEngine.bundle
- Numerology3ReWireDevice.plugin
- ReWire.bundle

I then restarted the computer and did a quick test. One problem persists: when I quit Numerology (in rewire mode) I can restart but I cannot open a project.

I sent you a Live crash log.
Tom
Groovy, thanks for the extra info, I'm on it. Ping me if you do not hear anything by Wednesday.

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2011, 12:31 PM
super8trash super8trash is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks, Jim.
Looking forward to hearing more about this.
And thanks for the tip, Sjoerd. I'm re-reading those App Integration, Synchronization & Rewire chapters right now. (Would you mind explaining why you chose to go with MTC instead of MIDI Clock?)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2011, 02:28 PM
Sjoerd Sjoerd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by super8trash View Post
Would you mind explaining why you chose to go with MTC instead of MIDI Clock?
I have not measured it and do not usually use more than one sequencer app simultaneously (I prefer to record/export both audio recordings and MIDI), but I typically had more stable results with MTC (and SPP to move around, although not so much with Numerology as in general).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.